Our Leadership

Executive Team

Bruce J. Lederman

President and Chief Executive Officer

Bruce J. Lederman’s experience as an eldercare executive and thought leader spans over 25 years.

Lederman previously held the position of CESLC’s Chief Operating Officer. Prior to joining CESLC, he served as senior vice president and chief strategy officer for Midwest Administrative Services Inc., a nursing home management company. He is also a former owner and operator of skilled nursing facilities and served as the nursing home administrator in one of his centers.

In addition to his professional experience, Lederman holds leadership roles in numerous organizations including; Jewish United Fund/Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago, CJE SeniorLife, Human Rights Campaign, Jewish Federations of North America, Leadership Greater Chicago, Jewish Council for Public Affairs, and the Health Facilities Association of Maryland.

Lederman has a B.A. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and he earned a J.D. from DePaul University. He is a licensed attorney in the State of Illinois and a member of the American Health Lawyers Association.

Elisa Gil-Pires, M.D., FACP, CMD

Executive Vice President, Medical Affairs/Chief Medical Officer and Medical Director

As Executive Vice President of Medical Affairs/Chief Medical Officer and Medical Director, Dr. Gil-Pires is responsible for the oversight and direction of the clinical and administrative aspects of managing the CESLC medical team to ensure regulatory compliance and achieve organizational key results. She joined CESLC in 2013. Dr. Gil-Pires also serves as site director for the NIH Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship program at CESLC.

Prior to CESLC, Dr. Gil-Pires served as the Chief of Geriatrics and Palliative Care at Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center in Hartford, Conn. And prior to that, she worked as a Staff Physician at Hebrew Healthcare in West Hartford, Conn.

Dr. Gil-Pires earned an undergraduate degree from Fairfield University in Fairfield, Conn. and an M.D. from St. George’s University School of Medicine. She completed her residency at University of Maryland Medical System in Baltimore, Md. She then completed a fellowship in Geriatrics and Palliative Care at the University of Connecticut Health Center in Farmington, Conn. She is board-certified in internal medicine, geriatric medicine and hospice and palliative care.

Terri Tanner-Hill

Executive Vice President, Finance and Chief Financial Officer

As Executive Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer, Terri Tanner-Hill leads Charles E. Smith Life Communities (CESLC)’s financial strategy including the administrative, business planning, accounting, and budgeting efforts for the organization. She is also responsible for overseeing technology and human resources.

Tanner-Hill has more than 20 years of experience in public accounting, consulting, and the financial management of healthcare and social service organizations. Prior to joining CESLC, she held leadership positions with Arthur Andersen, Catholic Charities in Baltimore and Schiavi, Wallace & Rowe.

Tanner-Hill earned a B.S. from Towson State University and is a Certified Public Accountant.

Board of Governors

Officers for 2023–2025

Natalie S. West

Kenneth H. Becker

Immediate Past Chair
Jeffrey S. Puretz

Bruce J. Lederman

Harry A. Harrison

David S. Karp

Vice Chair, Audit
Arthur J. Dykes

Vice Chair, Finance
Harry A. Harrison

Vice Chair, Resource Development
Alison S. Baraf

Vice Chair, Strategic Planning
Eric G. Meyers

Vice Chair, Quality of Care
Paula H. Robinson

Chair, Charles E. Smith Life Communities Trustee Funds, Inc.
Scott N. Brody

Chair, Cohen-Rosen House,
Landow House, Inc. Board,
Revitz House, Corp. Board,
Ring House, Corp. Board

Mark A. Becker

Governors for 2021–2023

Jeffrey S. Distenfeld
Lenore A. England
Alan M. Freeman
Samantha M. Gordon

Joseph B. Hoffman
Jacqueline M. Rams
Aaron M. Rulnick

Gary B. Saffitz
Matthew D. Schwartz
Marc F. Solomon
Mitchell A. Yentis

Past Presidents & Chairs

Bernard Danzansky, z”l
Morris Garfinkle, z”l
Harry Sherby, z”l
Jacob Eisman, z”l
Charles E. Goldsmith, z”l
Harry Lewis, MD, z”l
Hymen Goldman, z”l
Burnette Simon, z”l
Simon Hirshman, z”l

Charles E. Smith, z”l
Samuel P. Cohen, z”l
Hyman Berman, z”l
George Hurwitz, z”l
Leonard I. Abel, z”l
Jonathan S. England, z”l
Honorable Joseph B. Gildenhorn
Samuel R. Dweck, z”l
N. Paul Berlin, z”l
Jerome W. Golomb, z”l

Elliott I. Pollock, z”l
Ralph H. Deckelbaum, z”l
Edward M. Statland
David W. Rutstein
Brenda H. Guritzky, z”l
Donald J. Garner
Paul M. Yentis
Ronald D. West
Morris Dweck
Irving P. Cohen

Ivan B. Silverman
Arthur J. Dykes
Hanita Schreiber
David A. Samuels
Andrew S. Friedlander
Marc F. Solomon
Joseph B. Hoffman
Alan M. Freeman
Eric G. Meyers
Jeffrey S. Puretz